New Officers Elected by Lafayette Airport Commission for 2017

The Lafayette Airport Commission has selected Valerie Garrett to serve as the Commission’s 2017 chairwoman. Paul Guilbeau was appointed vice-chairman and John Hebert was chosen as secretary-treasurer.

“I am honored to be elected by my fellow commissioners. I am excited to work with a diverse team of skilled and talented individuals whose main focus is committed to enhancing customer experience by providing services and amenities associated with a first-class airport. We are excited as we move forward to build a terminal that is truly reflective of the City and its citizens and appreciate the trust and support of our community. This is an important year in the history of the airport, and “we” the Commission will strive to make Lafayette a convenient option for anyone flying into and out of Lafayette” says Garrett. “We have another great year planned with many milestones for the new terminal and we are looking forward to Lafayette Airport flying into the future with modern style, technique and technology.”

Garrett, a local attorney, was appointed to the Commission in October 2007. Ms. Garrett served as chairwoman of the Airport Commission Legal Committee overseeing the DBE application process which affords minority owned businesses opportunities to become DBE-certified to participate into the airport’s project both on the state and local level and bring about economic well-being. As chairwoman for the upcoming 2017 year, she leads the commission meetings, sets agendas for the meetings, serves as the commission spokesperson and maintains signature authority for all commission actions. Guilbeau was appointed to the commission in September 2008 and Hebert in November 2013.

Lafayette Regional Airport commissioners represent all areas of Lafayette Parish. The city-parish council, city-parish president and area mayors appoint the seven members. This volunteer commission supervises operational and marketing-related tasks on an ongoing basis. They work with airport staff to coordinate business development with potential customers and construction projects around the airport. In addition, commissioners act as ambassadors for the airport through their interaction with community and government leaders.

In addition to her position as Chair of the Lafayette Airport Commission, Ms. Garrett serves as a Board Member of the Lafayette Autism Society, Susan Komen of Acadiana Board Member. She is a member of Junior League of Acadiana, the Louisiana State Bar, Lafayette Parish Bar Association and a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and the Acadiana Inn of Court.

She recently was awarded the Founder’s Award for 2016 by the Lafayette Commission For the Needs of Women. She has earned the Louisiana State Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, which provides outstanding Pro Bono service to Louisiana indigents. She also received Outstanding Attorney and Outstanding Solo Practitioner Award from the Lafayette Volunteer Lawyers for three consecutive years (2014-2016). She has also been honored as a Top Lawyer by peer recognition in 2014 and 2015.

She prides herself on her “passion for justice and serving others” and has been an integral part of our community. In addition to the many organizations and committees in which she has served, she handles a private Law Practice and volunteers countless hours to her community. It is important to continue to work together to build one Acadiana.


Recommended Posts